Battlecries

The battlecries ring out
Bounce around the room
Carry desperation through the air
Heed the call for help
I find myself crumpled in the corner
On alert for the demon’s shadow
His stealth being is rising
While my fragile self is slipping
Vulnerable I crawl to a safe place
Back against the wall
Tears have given way
To fear
I am not impervious to his grasp
To his clutch
His soul sucking strength
I have no sword
I have no shield
Purely at his mercy
His voice reverberates inside me
Taunting me from the darkness
These walls are cold
Denial breeds weakness
I am left defenseless
I hear his breathing
Feel his footsteps
Won’t be long now
I have since given in
No will to fight
To stave off this evil within
What else is there
But to turn myself in
The delusion is real

One thought on “Battlecries

Leave a Reply

