Tool Kit: Serenity Prayer

Crouched in the corner
My hands cover my ears
Looking for shelter from the voices
Forcing myself into a protective ball
To fend off the demons
Gravity has its way
And down here I remain
The weight of the world
Of bipolar
Of anxiety
Of perfectionism
Pushing in on my soul
Reaching into my very core
Testing me
Just how much can I take
Just how much can I stuff
Just how bright can my fake smile be
Just how much can my false bravado withstand
Pressure continues to mount
My fears too many to count
Dark clouds descending
My safe corner shrinking
Everything closing in
Heart beat rapid
Breath gone missing
Sweat now dripping
I repeat the serenity prayer silently
Over
Over
Over again
Until I feel my feet on the ground

Leave a Reply

